Let’s move on!

 

Hello dear bloggers! I’m back over one month after. I’ve got good news for you, well, at least for me. This week I have finished my second bachelor’s degree. In some weeks, after I receive my diploma, I will be officially a translator and interpreter. This is wonderful because I really love the second part, interpreting is a very stressing activity which hooks you up very easily. My dream would be to interpret for the African Union, but I need to add more languages in my curriculum, such as Portuguese and German o Chinese. And, need some contacts! So guys, we got a new goal for the upcoming years!

In the meanwhile I’ve got to start searching for a job. It’s really tough to see your mum working so hard and not being able to help her with the charges. She thought after so many years of studying I would be already a successful professional living the Spanish/European dream. But the credit crunch opposed her plans, and sometimes I feel as if I deceived her by not finding a proper job after finishing my first degree. So, let’s see what Spain can offer us. I know that being a black African professional is still unthinkable for many Spanish people and immigrants living here, especially in the small cities and regions. But, I am ready for this.

I remember that this morning my aunt told me by phone how astonished she was when she saw a black man working at our local bank branch. The fact that she was so surprised speaks for itself. I tried to calm her down, saying that this is absolutely normal, but in my inner side I know that it isn’t. Spanish society is still unaccustomed to see African working on something else apart from the construction sector, domestic jobs and taking care of elderly people.

People are surprised every time I say I work as a teacher. Also, I remember when I was doing my internship at Spanish National TV and I was shooting a video piece of our local mayor. Suddenly the current Vice-Prime Minister arrived to the building and the mayor wanted her to be on the video, so we were waiting. It was funny to see her face when she entered the office and saw a black camera operator, she almost freaked out. But the mayor told her who I was.

But I also have to say that, except very few cases, people react well, or at least they try not to be very openly unpleasant. After the surprise, they react positively –apparently.

But, as I was saying, I’m very happy in these days. In a couple of hours I’m moving back home after a whole year living in another region, and working so badly to pay my bills and university fees. Finally I’m free, at least for a couple of weeks.

But today I’m also a bit sad because I think, once again, that living with European people is very hard for me at times. Sometimes I think it’s impossible. We are just so different in many ways. I have always shared flats with Spanish students, and after living with more than 10 different people, I can just say that we have shared things because I was raised here so I can understand the way they live and think, but not the other way around.

And it’s quite funny because young people think of themselves as very open-minded and ‘tolerant’. The think I hate the most is the selfishness, the inability to feel or to think beyond one’s individual interest. I really think that there are few thinks that we African can teach them. I don’t know. I was raised on sacrifice, solidarity and family. Maybe I’m just in the wrong place.

Well, people. Have a nice day.

 

6 thoughts on “Let’s move on!

  1. I enjoy reading your thoughtful and honest post…Congratulations to you and never stop setting goals for yourself.

  2. Hello there… perhpas you can help me. I am a student currently taking an African American Studies Class and am working on a presentation due next week. We got to select a country of discussion, which I selected Spain. I want to get a feel on how is the African woman seen in today’s Spanish society and anything else I can get my hands on. I am looking for scholary works, journals, periodicals, books and the like. I am having a hard time here in the states getting anything of value. Do yo have any ideas where I can search? Thanks, Ric Serrano

  3. Hello Ric,

    I’m sorry I didn’t reply earlier. Well, concerning your question, I hope this will hope:

    http://sosracismo.org/ This is a Website against racism in general. You may find something in particular about women.
    https://www.educacion.gob.es/teseo/irGestionarConsulta.do;jsessionid=ABFE1271679D3AFF97C9F2063D8CF48C

    Here you can find info about doctorate thesis made in Spain in the website of the Ministry of Education. Typing keywords may help.

    And, some articles from El País: http://cultura.elpais.com/buscador/

    If I recall more sites, I’ll let you know.

    Good luck!

  4. Hello/Hola,
    I am so happy to have found your blog! Great writing and very important subject matter (especially for me: a UK born Nigerian, who has been moved to Barcelona 5 years).

    “I think, once again, that living with European people is very hard for me at times. Sometimes I think it’s impossible. We are just so different in many ways.”
    This quote is more or less the perfect summary of my time in Spain. It’s almost as if you read my mind!

    I look forward to reading more from you in the near future …

  5. Hello Yomi:

    Thanks for passing by. And for your words. I hope your time in Barcelona wasn’t that bad, it is a beautiful city, hosting the biggest black population in Spain. Yes, as you said, sometimes we are very different. Some things are just unchangeable. let’s call them ‘cultural frontiers’.

    Bienvenido a mi blog cuando quieras. Abrazos desde España.

Leave a Reply

