Introducing my (self) blog!

Firstly, let me thank you because you actually stopped by,and  because you are reading these lines! Secondly, I beg your sincere pardon for my English. I’m  not a native speaker, and my texts would definitely be of better quality if written in Spanish, but I want to improve my writing skills in this language. English is so important today  for (Spain) me! I will do all my best. I promise. Don’t hesitate to correct any mistake, please.

Image                        streets of Granada. A historical and university-focused city

      In this blog I will be talking about what is like to grow and live in this country as an Afrospanish nowadays. Let me introduce myself. I’m a journalist,  a 24-years-old university student (still) whispering from Spain, where I grew up. I did not come to life here, though, as my mun was in centre Africa in those sunny (I presume) days… That makes a 1.5 generation immigrant, according to a report I once read on the major Spanish Newspapers (ElPaís). They were making the difference between children born abroad but who grew up in here since their early childhood and those who were born here from immigrant pareents. Do you agree with this distinction? 

To be fair, I consider myself a bit Spanish and a bit African (and I did not choose any country for a reason). To me it doesn’t make sense to choose, as I do NOT have to choose between mum and dad. They’re  both part of me, it’s a kind of “un-erasable” characteristic of myself…Almost an analogue situation.

But first I will show you something else…

Image

                                       Granada’s Arabic inspired city. I love the roofs!

I am African, and this a fact. It’s undeniable for my skin colour, my nationality, but also for my thoughts. And I’m also Spanish, evident to those who really know me, for the language I speak, the culture I studied at school and the environment I live in, and above all, for my thoughts, again. 

But, this a not a blog about identity, although I find it a really interesting and trendy topic. You will get your own view about which part of my identity is more important to my heart by reading the continuing posts.

However, I do have to warn you about something else: I’m a very critical person! So, much of issues here won’t be about sun and fiesta in Spain, it’s much more the other face. However, I profoundly believe that we only criticize what we love and care about. I feel myself as a member of this country as well as of the African diaspora. That’s why I created this blog in order to analyse some issues on life back here. 

This being said, I will also share with you things I love about this country.

I strongly call other Afrospanish people to contribute to this blog. I think it’s really important to gather around as a community, as we have lots if experiences in common. 

Recomiendo fervientemente a vosotros, otros afroespañoles a collaborar, decir lo que pensáis y compartir aquello que nos une. Seguro que es más de lo que esperamos. La unión es importante para visibilizar una realidad! 

And finally, Northen Spain. This precisely the Basque Country ( you might have heard about this area, it’s a long story)

Image

21 thoughts on “Introducing my (self) blog!

  1. Hey, i like your blog. Nice to read about an African perspective about Spain.
    Can you tell me who the Spaniards call the moors ?

    • Hi Jared, sorry for replying so late (been doing my best with the exams at University).
      Here in Spain, people use the word ‘moors’ to refer to Arabs in general, and to Morrocans in particular, as it comes from the times of the Muslims’ invasion/conquest of Spain (711-1492), before the Catholic Kngs of Modern Spain. It’s a despective word to refer to the ‘others’, the enemies that is commonly used nowadays.

      Hope that would help. 🙂

  2. Here in the USA, the phrase is “work like a nigger”, and is not a compliment, but also a backhanded way of recognizing that the labor of the African enslaved in the US was brutal and unrewarding for African people

    • Yes, some expressions are very illustrative about some countries collective imaginaries, about their history. That’s why Eto¡o is famour for stating on tv: Trabajo como un negro para vivir como un blanco, meaning ‘ I work like a nigger to be able to live like a white’. And, ironically, some of them complained, so funny!

  3. I’m a black man from England who has been living in Madrid for over a year now. I have experienced a few problems with racism but mainly from the police. I love your blog and will follow it. I look foward to reading more about your experiences.

    • Thanks a lot for your comment, Chico.Rei. Happy to have you reading this blog. Yes, Police may be quite beast in here. But I’m sure they do what the superiors ask them to do. You know, they need to show that they fight against illegal immigration, and the easy target are basically Arabs and Blacks. A pity. Fortunately, I haven’t had a bad experience with police, yet.

  4. I do love Spain and Spanish people, most of my friends are from Spanish speaking countries. I haven’t been to Spain months or weeks on end to experience things like racism, but I have been warned.

    • Spaniards are really welcoming people, in general. I feel that they have that warmth that southern countries share. Despite, they might seem a bit ‘cold’ for African at first sight, but they actually turn out to be quite similar. Love meeting up at a bar/pub/ club and chat for hours while drinking some white or ‘tinto’ wine. Very keen to make jokes and laugh at everything, even if at not politically correct issues.

      By the way, Welcome to this blog!

  5. HI, I am thinking about coming to Spain for Fullbright to teach English for 10 months and I came across your blog. I am interested in studying the African Diaspora in Spain because it is often overlooked. I am from the U.S. and I am multi-racial, like most people in the world now a days, but people still want me to be specific about what I am. As well as myself my husband would be coming too, for a few months. We are both of African descent and I am a bit nervous because of the way I heard blacks are treated in Spain, thus why I prefer Latin America. I was just hoping to either exchange emails with you or something of the sort. Por favor si no me entiende digame y se lo escribire en espanol. Espero que podemos cambiar emails para que yo tenga una amgia alla si decido a ir en el Septiembre del 2014. I loved your blog!!

  6. Thanks a lot for these ideas. I can’t believe I read the entire blog in just 50 minutes! Well, I wish I had a chance to read you during my one year stay in Spain in 2012. I’m black and like they say, ‘sub-saharan’. I loved Spain but couldn’t stand the hustles. I’m back home (not sure whether I’ll stay for good due to the reasons you yourself mentioned (of injustice, politics, economics etc) but at least now, after gaining 2 masters degrees, I’m back home.

    • All I cans say is Good luck back home, Claude. I hope things went on well for you and you found the job you worked for. We are probably the best-educated African youth ever, but things can and must improve. They rather do, for our people’s sake!

  7. Hi, Claude! Welcome to my blog. I glad you found it interesting enough to read it so fastly. Yes, one of my aims is to give a personal vision of life in Spain. I wish you all the best back home. Nothing better than home.

Leave a Reply

